top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDana Palacios

Keep your keys Tidy and Handy

Updated: Jul 13, 2022




One of my problems was that I could never find the keys I was looking for when I needed them. I had to spend several minutes going through the box with frustration. My system was not working.


Keys are not my thing! On my front door, I have a smart log with 4 different passwords for each one of our house members. I love a smart home! When someone enters your home, you receive a notification. You can create a temporary password which is very useful. Let's say you are out of town but left some lights on. You can give someone a temporary password for them to get in. I am not a fan of keys because I always lose them, and I hate having a large key chain full of things. I have my car key without any key chain, which is very minimalistic, and that is how I like it.



This is an effortless project to tackle. You will need tags, hooks, and some kind of label maker. You can also make the labels on a Word document, print, cut, and glue them to the key tag. Another option is to write directly on the tag. I wanted to add extra effort and care, so I created labels for each of my keys


Group

The first step is to group your keys by function. If you have many keys, it is best to separate them by use. For example, our jet ski has several keys, and I like to have them all in the same keyring. Why? We need to take all of them when launching the jets ski, and I do not want to have them apart. I will probably leave a couple behind. But you can separate them if that works for you.


Tag


After you have them grouped in the same keyring, you need to tag them. For my tags, I used these very inexpensive plastic key tags from Amazon. They come in a pack of 50 for just $6.99.

These key tags have write-on blank space with 2 paper stickers for each tag. Just write notes on the paper label and stick them on either side of each tag.






Label


Since my handwriting is not very neat, I used my mini label maker to create my tag labels. This handy printer makes it easy to add labels to just about anything and get organized quickly.






Hang

You will need some type of Self Adhesive Mount Hooks. These adhesive hooks are a great option if you don’t want to put holes in the cabinet. I use them around my home in different places. If you are renting or like to change things around like me, this is a must-have for you.


Where to Keep them


The Last step is to find the perfect place to store them. I placed mine on my cupboard and had them on the higher cabinet to prevent my small children from playing with them. The kitchen is my option number one because it is the most used space in our home and is accessible to all of us. Considering how often you use these keys, you need to find the place that makes more sense for your home.



Due to my previous failing system, I still have some unknown keys. I just grouped them together, hoping that their purpose would be found one day.






Do you need to organize your keys? Do you already have a system? Any tips you can share? You can check my instagram for more ideas. Happy Organizing!

Dana




27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page