top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDana Palacios

Budget Friendly Patio Makeover

Summer is officially here! That means we are going to be spending more time outside. Our patio was a disaster. We started to renovate the inside of our home a year and a half ago. During that time, the patio was forgotten. I couldn’t think about anything else but beautifying the space. My inspiration was a beautiful and functional oasis. It took me a while to develop a plan for this space because I was trying to keep this project budget-friendly.




The Before:



Creating an Outdoor oasis



It doesn't matter if you don't have a large patio with a beautiful design; you can still have an outdoor oasis just by adding the right furniture and some decor. The best thing about it is that it's very affordable. I did not want to spend a thousand dollars only on a patio set. Because then, you need to add the cost of the decor pieces, throw pillows, rugs, umbrella, etc.











For this set up I used:

You can't beat the price of the outdoor wood seating set from Amazon ( $209). You heard it correctly! This is a 4-piece Patio set that includes a coffee table, two armchairs, and a love seat that can easily fit 2-3 people( cushions included). It took me a while to find it since wooden furniture is trending now and prices are very high.



Material: Acacia wood


Cost:

$209 + $39.99 delivery fees























Acacia Wood Outdoor Furniture Pros


Acacia wood furniture looks great without being excessively expensive. They are affordable and durable, and acacia furniture can withstand sun and water exposure. Most furniture sets can last for at least a few decades of use.



Outdoor Area Styling

If you want your patio to feel just as inviting as your living room, you need to add a rug. I got mine from Amazon. There are tones of beautiful rugs, but let me tell you why this one was the winner for me.


This reversible Nirvana Outdoor Rug has over a thousand 5-stars reviews. It is made from plastic straws, which makes it great for cleaning. I have a dog who will eventually poop or pee on the rug. I needed something easy to clean. You can rinse it with water and leave it to air dry. It has sunlight protection against fading, which makes it very durable. It is reversible, so I can rotate the rug whenever I feel like having a new look. This rug does not stain since it is plastic and dries very quickly. I do not have to worry about stepping on a wet carpet. We have lots of rainy days during summer in Miami. I needed to find a rug that would be ready for use after the rain.



How To Make Your Outdoor Area Feel Cozy


Adding texture to your outdoor place with throw pillows and maybe a blanket is the best way. I picked my outdoor cushions at Home Goods, but here are some beautiful options from Target. Amazon also has some attractive options, but you must buy the pillow covers and the cushions separately.


I added a wicker lantern and a pouf seat for outdoors from Home Goods, but you can find similar ones here:


Overhead shelter

If your backyard constantly receives sunlight like mine, you should consider some overhead shelter. I went with the umbrella because it is easy to put up and take down when not in use. This umbrella is not only pretty, but it also makes a beautiful ornament



Plants

Do not forget to add some plants! I placed my plant at the edge of the sitting area to help define the space. It makes it feel cozier and more intimate. I am not a plant person. I love them but do not have time to care for them. I choose the Majesty Palm because it needs less water and is perfect for the space. If you love plants go ahead and feel free to add as many as you want. Remember to take into consideration if they are going to be exposed to the sun or shade.


Water requirements: once a week

Light Requirements: any Light


Storage and Maintanance

You need some kind of storage container to put away items you don't want to be exposed to the sun all the time. I found this beautiful storage box made from the same Acacia wood. It matches perfectly with the rest of the furniture. This box will help you hide your outdoor accessories and maintain a neat appearance. In addition to providing storage, this container box can also be used as a bench. Two people can sit together since the seat is large enough.

When I am not using the patio area, I make sure to store away cushions. To better protect my outdoor furniture from sun and water damage, I use Scotchgard Sun and Water Shield. I spray all of my furniture (rug and umbrella included since it works on fabric) every 3 months. Scotchgard Outdoor helps reduce color fading by blocking out the sun's rays.



Assembling

Everything was so easy to assemble! I was able to put it together with no help. No extra tools are needed. Everything you need is right in the box.

String Lights





Your outdoor space won't be ready without string lights. String lights are very stylish and functional. They illuminate your outdoor living while creating an inviting atmosphere for your family and guests to enjoy. You can get creative with your string lights. The more, the merrier.


Other Details




DIY Art

Since it was a budget-friendly makeover, I decided to DIY the art I wanted to display over the white fence. I found a beautiful metal wall art at Home Goods, but the color did not match the color palette I chose for the patio. I bought two different types of spray paint: one for color and the other one for texture. I first applied Rust-Oleum Gloss Protective Enamel (sand color) and let it dry. Then I applied Rust-Oleum Stone spray (Sienna) to some of the plates to add texture.


The Before


After

I love how it looks like rattan!


Total Spent: $1135. I went over my budget a little. I wanted to stay under 1000. But it was worth it! Everything I bought I absolutely adored and had a purpose for it. Considering how expensive outdoor furniture is, I am very happy with everything I got! I wanted the best quality I could get for a reasonable price.


Now we can enjoy summer afternoons in our little oasis. Perfect timing with the 4th of July coming! We are having a party with friends and their kids. We have a pool, and ( in Miami, we barely have winter) we are going to use this new space so much! I can’t believe this is the same patio! The pavers are still old, and the patio still needs a little bit of work, but this beautiful space makes everything feel different. You can transform any space by adding a little bit of love and care!







What do you think of the space? Does your patio also need a little love? Are you planning on getting everything ready for summer? Please, leave your questions, comments, and thoughts below. You can also find me on Instagram.


Dana

16 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page